The 7 wonders of the modern world

The 7 wonders of the modern world were designated in 2007 during a vote organized by the association  New Seven Wonders Foundation. This ranking follows what we know as the 7 wonders of the world (old); a list established by two great Greek spirits (Herodotus and Callimachus of Cyrene) a few hundred years before JC. Thus, on July 7, 2007, in Lisbon was unveiled the list.

The 7 wonders of the modern world

1. Great Wall of China

wonders of the modern world

The Great Wall of China is a set of military constructions erected to defend the country’s northern border. It is the most important human construction ever made. And this, whether on the surface, in mass or even in length. Moreover, the last measure of its length (in 1990), we deliver a stunning result: 6.259 kilometers. Since 1987 she is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Finally, let’s cut short an urban legend, the Great Wall of China is not visible from space! Although it is several thousand kilometers long, it is only 6 meters wide. Thus, as soon as one exceeds one hundred kilometers of altitude it is done entirely in its surroundings.

2. City of Petra in Jordan

wonders of the modern world

The city of Petra, located south of present-day Jordan, was created towards the end of the 8th century BC by Edomites. It was later occupied by the Nabataeans and prospered thanks to its strategic position on the road of incense and spices. It is the second wonders of the modern world.

At its peak, 25,0000 people lived there before it gradually fell into oblivion. It was rediscovered in 1812 by the Swiss explorer Jean Louis Burckhardt. Subsequently, she was listed in 1985 as UNESCO World Heritage. It is from a major tourist site.

3. Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

wonders of the modern world

Christ the Redeemer, or O Cristo Redentor in Portuguese, is a statue of Jesus Christ designed by the Brazilian engineer Heitor da Silva Costa. It was made between 1926 and 1931 by the sculptors Paul Landowski (French) and Gheorghe Leonida (Romanian).

From the top of Mount Corcovado, it overlooks the city of Rio de Janeiro in Brazil and embraces its bay with open arms. The statue is 30 meters high and its pedestal 8 meters. It is one of the 5 tallest statues in the world.

4. Machu Picchu in Peru

wonders of the modern world

Machu Picchu is an Inca city of the fifteenth century perched at  2,438 meters above sea level in the middle of the Andes. At the time, and according to archaeologists, it would have been either an imperial residence or a religious sanctuary. Or both. Pride of Peru, this city was abandoned after the decline of the Inca empire.

Thus, it remains unfinished today and that is perhaps what gives it all its charm. Indeed, every year very many tourists go there. Finally, note that it has been listed since 1983 as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


5. Chichen Itza in Mexico

wonders of the modern world

The Chichen Itza site is an ancient Mayan city located on the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico. The first traces of construction date from the 8th century and its presence here is due to the cenotés that surround it. These famous wells of fresh water thus allowed the Mayans to easily meet their water needs. Since 1988 it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is the 5th wonders of the modern world.

6. Colosseum of Rome in Italy

wonders of the modern world

Huge amphitheater in the center of Rome, the Colosseum is the largest arena ever erected during the Roman Empire. Its construction began between 70 and 72 AD, under Emperor Vespasian. The Herculean works lasted nearly a hundred years and ended in 80 under Titus.

With a capacity of between 50,000 and 75,000 spectators, the Coliseum has hosted both fights (animal and gladiator) and public performances. Jewels of Italy, it was classified in 1980 as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Today it still hosts shows, but exceptionally.

7. Taj Mahal in Agra, India

wonders of the modern world

There are few stories as moving as the Taj Mahal. Indeed, this white marble mausoleum built by the Muslim Mughal emperor Shâh Jahân was erected in memory of his wife Arjumand Bânu Begam. She died while giving birth to their fourteenth child.

The construction of the mausoleum that began in 1631 was completed in 1648. Taj Mahal, which means “palace of the crown” in Persian, is located in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India. Registered in UNESCO World Heritage in 1983, it is 73 meters high and every year around 7 million tourists visit it.

Sam Owens

Hi, I am Sam and I want to be your contact in the world of smart tools. You may like to find some information about those or want to get them really fast – contact me. My goal is to make your everyday life easier so that you won't waste time searching for useful information anymore. Therefore, in my articles, I write about the newest discoveries that bring additional comfort to your life. Enjoy reading and let me know if you like my content!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button